Van Ness Butler Jr. Award

Annual Walton County TDC / Visit South Walton Hospitality and Tourism Award

Van Ness Butler Jr.

Download the 2017 Nomination/Application Form Today!

About the Award

This annual hospitality award was established in 2003 by the Walton County Tourist Development Council (TDC) to encourage and recognize excellence in hospitality service, travel/tourism marketing, advertising, promotion, and contributions to the local community.

The award honors the legacy of service embodied by the Van Ness Butler family who acquired the land now known as Grayton Beach in 1922. The Butler family built the Grayton Beach Hotel and through their family's passion, determination, and energy set the stage for the developing tourism industry.

Following his grandfather's legacy, Van Ness Butler, Jr. served as the first chairman of the Walton County TDC, as interim executive director for two years and on the Tourist Development Council for more than 13 years. This award also honors the Florida Tourism Hall of Fame inductees and pioneers of Walton County's hospitality and tourism industries.  

Nominees for the Van Ness Butler Jr., Hospitality Award are judged and awarded for the current year on their initiative, merits and innovation in achieving organizational success and on working with other community businesses or organizations to enhance Walton County's local, national or international standing as a travel destination.  


Tourism in South Walton succeeds through the efforts of dedicated, enthusiastic and innovative people. The Van Ness Butler Jr. Hospitality Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has made significant contributions to tourism in Walton County while working with other community businesses or organizations to enhance South Walton’s standing as an upscale travel destination.  Please consider nominating yourself or someone you know! The winner will be recognized and presented with an award at the TDC Annual Meeting in October of each year.

Stay tuned for more information about the 2018 Program and how to nominate an individual who has made significant contributions to tourism in Walton County. 

Award Recipients

  • 2017: Lino Maldonado
  • 2016: Jennifer Steele
  • 2015: Mike Ragsdale
  • 2014: Jeanne Dailey
  • 2013: Malcolm Patterson
  • 2012: MC Davis
  • 2011: Michael Adkinson
  • 2010: Keith Howard
  • 2009: Walton County Commissioners (Scott Brannon, Sara Commander, Larry Jones, Cecilia Jones, Kenneth Pridgen)
  • 2008: Johnny Earles
  • 2007: Pat Potter
  • 2006: Robert Davis
  • 2005: Don McQuade
  • 2004: Joann Saucier
  • 2003: Van Ness Butler Jr.


File 2017 Van Ness Butler Nomination/Application